About the editors
  About the contributors
  Brief table of contents
  Full table of contents
  About the EDITORS

Associate Professor Darren Mansfield MBBS FRACP PhD is a sleep disorders and respiratory physician. He is the Deputy Director of Monash Lung and Sleep (Monash Health in Melbourne), head of the Monash Health Sleep Unit, and Director of the Epworth Sleep Centre. He holds an adjunct associate professor position in the School of Psychological Sciences, Monash University. Darren’s key clinical and research interests are in developing and validating new models of care in relation to sleep medicine. These include multidisciplinary insomnia management, multidisciplinary sleep apnoea management, and peri-operative sleep health. In addition, Darren has a broad interest in education, including roles as Director of Physician Education and establishing a high school sleep education program delivered to over 2,500 students per year.

Professor Nick Antic MBBS FRACP PhD died shortly before publication of this book. Nick was Clinical Director of the Adelaide Institute for Sleep Health and had just finished his 2-year term as the President of the Australasian Sleep Association. He was a sleep and respiratory medicine physician with major research interests in new models of care in obstructive sleep apnoea and linking these strategies to primary care, as well as assessing surgical reconstructive treatments for the condition. He lead the Sleep Group for the International Random Controlled Trial investigating the effect of continuous positive airway pressure in reducing cardiovascular risk (SAVE trial). This task included running the core lab for this trial. He had just completed his term as the Chair of Sleep and Neurobiology Program Committee for the American Thoracic Society and was the first Australian sleep and respiratory physician to hold that position. In his last 5 years, Nick had 75 publications, 111 overall (4 editorialised) most in leading international sleep and respiratory journals. Nick had been a Chief Investigator on 8 National Health & Medical Research Council research projects.

Professor Shantha M W Rajaratnam PhD LLB(Hons) is a sleep and circadian rhythm expert. He is a Past President of the Australasian Sleep Association, and is currently a board member in the Sleep Health Foundation. He is Professor of Sleep and Circadian Medicine in the School of Psychological Sciences at Monash University, Leader of the Sleep Theme for Monash Institute of Cognitive and Clinical Neurosciences, Chair of the Monash Sleep Network, and a Program Leader for the Alertness CRC. He also holds faculty appointments in the Division of Sleep and Circadian Disorders at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Division of Sleep Medicine at Harvard Medical School in Boston. His research expertise includes the role of the biological (circadian) clock in the regulation of sleep-wakefulness and health.

Professor Matthew T Naughton MBBS MD FRACP is a sleep disorders and respiratory physician. He is Past President of the Australian Sleep Association. He is currently the head of General Respiratory and Sleep Medicine within the Department of Allergy, Immunology and Respiratory Medicine, Alfred Hospital, Melbourne. He is also an adjunct professor of medicine, Central Clinical School, Monash University. His clinical and research interests centre on cardiopulmonary interaction in health and disease and the impact of positive airway pressure, about which he has published extensively.










Copyright © IP Communications Pty Ltd 2013